May 23, 2015

  • NASA's WISE Spacecraft Discovers Most Luminous Galaxy in Universe

    Brightest galaxyThis artist's concept depicts the current record holder for the most luminous galaxy in the universe. Image credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech

    This artist's concept depicts the current record holder for the most luminous galaxy in the universe. The galaxy, named WISE J224607.57-052635.0, is erupting with light equal to more than 300 trillion suns. It was discovered by NASA's Wide-Field Infrared Survey Explorer, or WISE. The galaxy is smaller than the Milky Way, yet puts out 10,000 times more energy.

    Scientists think that a supermassive black hole at the center of this dusty galaxy is busily consuming gaseous material in a colossal growth spurt. As the gas is dragged toward the black hole, it heats up and blasts out visible, ultraviolet and X-ray light. The dust swaddling the galaxy absorbs this light and heats up, radiating longer-wavelength, infrared light. The dust also blocks our view of shorter, visible-light wavelengths, while letting longer-wavelengths through. This is similar to what happens when sunlight streams through our dusty atmosphere, producing a brilliant red sunrise.

    In fact, more than 99 percent of the light escaping from this dusty galaxy is infrared. As a result, it is much harder to see with optical telescopes.

    Because light from the galaxy hosting the black hole has traveled 12.5 billion years to reach us, astronomers are seeing the object as it was in the distant past. During this epoch, galaxies would have been more than five times closer together than they are now, as illustrated in the background of the artist's concept. This is due to the expansion of space -- space itself and the galaxies in it are stretching apart from each other at ever-increasing speeds.

    JPL manages and operates WISE for NASA's Science Mission Directorate in Washington. The spacecraft was put into hibernation mode in 2011, after it scanned the entire sky twice, thereby completing its main objectives. In September 2013, WISE was reactivated, renamed NEOWISE and assigned a new mission to assist NASA's efforts to identify potentially hazardous near-Earth objects.

    More information is online at http://www.nasa.gov/wise and http://wise.astro.ucla.edu and http://www.jpl.nasa.gov/wise.

    View all Images

Comments (49)

  • Magnificent site. Lots of useful information here. I am sending it
    to several pals ans also sharing in delicious. And certainly, thank you on your sweat!

  • Good day I am so delighted I found your webpage, I really found you by
    accident, while I was researching on Bing for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a
    incredible post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don't have time to read through it all at the minute but I have
    bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I
    have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the awesome job.

  • Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to assert that I get
    actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing to your feeds
    and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

  • If you assault one more player or use the Revenge option to assault the person who ruined your foundation the shield routinely lifts.

  • With 100% surety you just get Instagram followers from and we will remedy the troubles of your business.

  • At the least they were nowhere fast inside the start of the month.

  • Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google,
    and found that it is truly informative. I am gonna watch
    out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future.
    Numerous people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  • Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting for your further
    write ups thank you once again.

  • Professionals estimate that training a site dog fully can take as much as 18 months.
    Brewer's yeast can be a type of nutritional
    yeast used as a canine supplement.

  • A gasoline-only vehicle that gets 25 mpg returns an ordinary yearly energy price of $1,650.

  • I examined the perk of peptides and located it to be
    rather good. I purchased a couple of items online and also began consuming it.
    I have discovered it to be rather reliable as I have
    seen an excellent decrease in aging indications. I am also
    an athlete. The consumption of these peptides has actually assisted boost my stamina which is why I am able to workout well.

  • Get rid of the metal collar, you'll see that it is a brass ring which is an adapter for
    connecting a little pipe/hose for a toilet line.

  • All spread bets are sold ₤ per point, implying that for every tick
    movement of the marketplace, the tick value will certainly be 1 GBP.

  • Netflix lets people who purchase their want to log
    in on their accounts and either add movies on their queue to become.

  • Many thanks for another excellent article. Excellent job.

  • I simply want to state that this post is very valuable.
    Thank you for taking your time to post this.

  • Useful info. Fortunate me I discovered your site
    accidentally, and I am surprised why this twist of fate didn't took place in advance!
    I bookmarked it.

  • Touche. Solid arguments. Keep up the amazing work.

  • Hello I am so thrilled I found your web site, I really found
    you by error, while I was looking on Google for something else,
    Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a remarkable post and
    a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read
    through it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do
    keep up the fantastic jo.

  • I go to see each day a few blogs and websites to read articles, except this blog offers quality based posts.

  • I read this article fully on the topic of the difference of most up-to-date and previous
    technologies, it's awesome article.

  • Hurrah, that's what I was seeking for, what a data!

    existing here at this weblog, thanks admin of this web page.

  • This is my first time pay a visit at here and i am actually pleassant to read all at alone place.

  • I blog frequently and I genuinely appreciate your information. This great article has really peaked
    my interest. I'm going to bookmark your blog and keep checking for new information about once a week.
    I subscribed to your RSS feed as well.

  • Your style is really unique compared to other people I have read stuff from.

    Thank you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I
    will just book mark this web site.

  • What's up friends, how is all, and what you would like to say concerning
    this article, in my view its genuinely remarkable in support of me.

  • First off I want to say superb blog! I had a quick question in which I'd
    like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to
    find out how you center yourself and clear your head before writing.
    I've had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there.

    I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes
    are wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any suggestions or hints? Thank you!

  • What a stuff of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious knowledge about unpredicted feelings.

  • Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it's truly informative.
    I am going to watch out for brussels. I'll appreciate if you
    continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited
    from your writing. Cheers!

  • Hello, after reading this remarkable paragraph i am as well delighted to share my knowledge here with colleagues.

  • No matter if some one searches for his required thing, thus he/she
    desires to be available that in detail, thus that thing is
    maintained over here.

  • Hi! I've been following your site for some time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Lubbock Texas!

    Just wanted to tell you keep up the fantastic job!

  • Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it's truly informative.

    I am going to watch out for brussels. I will
    appreciate if you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited from your writing.

    Cheers!

  • My coder is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he's tryiong none the less. I've been using WordPress on a
    variety of websites for about a year and am concerned about switching to
    another platform. I have heard fantastic things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can import all my wordpress content into it?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  • If you are going for best contents like I do, simply pay
    a visit this web page every day since it provides feature contents, thanks

  • Incredible quest there. What occurred after? Thanks!

  • I don't even understand how I finished up here, but I believed this post used to be great.
    I do not understand who you are but definitely you're going to a
    well-known blogger in case you are not already. Cheers!

  • Remarkable! Its actually amazing article, I have got much
    clear idea on the topic of from this article.

  • Good web site you've got here.. It's difficult to find excellent writing like yours nowadays.
    I really appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

  • Thank you for every other informative site.

    Where else could I get that kind of information written in such a perfect manner?
    I've a challenge that I am simply now operating on, and I have been at the
    look out for such info.

  • Wonderful beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your web site, how could i subscribe for a blog web site?
    The account helped me a applicable deal. I have been a little bit
    acquainted of this your broadcast offered brilliant transparent
    idea

  • And also considering their web site, they're not too costly
    for a straightforward knapsack.

  • Kindly take a look at the comments below the write-up to
    read about the many successes of this method. Blog about your lead to the remarks also.

  • Remarkable! Its genuinely remarkable paragraph, I have got
    much clear idea on the topic of from this article.

  • Many thanks for the post.I like your writing style and I’m trying to begin a
    blog myself, I think I might read thru all your posts for some
    ideas! Many thanks once more.

  • You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something which I think I
    would never understand. It seems too complex and extremely broad for me.

    I'm looking forward for your next post, I'll try to get
    the hang of it!

  • Jeans also give its wearer some flexibility when it arrives to
    design. Many health insurance agents urge
    their cliets to be creative. we are manufacturer retailer for
    the brand Xn - Y, it is already quit famous in market. For that reason, Discount Maternity Clothing is often a great alternative for them.

  • I’m glad I discovered your article. I would
    never have made sense of this topic on my own. I’ve read some other articles
    on this subject, but I was puzzled until I read
    yours.

  • Terrific blog, I am going to spend more time reading about this subject.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment